Prev   Next

Back to the top of the FAQ

Q. I notice that once I have entered a username and password to access a directory, I don't have to enter it again. Because several people share each computer/browser that access the directory, how do I turn this caching off?

A. You are using Basic Authentication, and the browser caches the username and password. Browsers differ in their behaviour, but they will always cache a username/password for a URL directory until they are closed. Some will save the cached information for when they are restarted, although this is usually configurable. If you could turn caching off, you would be prompted for your username and password on every request for each file and image!

You can achieve what you want to do using cookie based authentication and setting a timeout. Click here for more info

Back to the top of the FAQ

Prev   Next